Avocado vs Lucid

Get an Instant Discount for Avocado Get $200 Off - Code MERRY200

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Avocado

The Avocado Green is an organic latex hybrid mattress that doesn't skimp on doing things right. For those that are sensitive to off-gassing or suffer from airborne allergies, having an all-natural mattress is a must, but Avocado goes a step further. They are certified organic, not only using some organic materials, but going through a stringent process to have their source materials, factory and products certified GOTS organic. They are also GreenGuard Gold certified, which is one of the most rigorous volatile emissions standards to obtain and Made Safe® Non-Toxic certified.

Lucid

Lucid mattresses have been selling mattresses online for the last seven years and they have a wide variety of gel memory foam, hybrid, and latex mattresses -- including a super thick 16 inch mattress. They offer a wide variety of mattress options that are low cost, which is preferred for budget-conscious shoppers. However, there are customers that have experienced some issues with sagging and durability over a shorter period than average, so these mattresses may be best only for temporary solutions.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Avocado in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Avocado

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Lucid: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Lucid: 6.9/10

Price Value:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Lucid: 7.3/10

No Back Pain:
Avocado: 9.4/10
Lucid: 8.1/10

Price:
Avocado: $959-$2199
Lucid: $375-$1000

Avocado:
Get $200 Off - Code MERRY200

Lucid:
Get Yours Now

Avocado's Owner Satisfaction

Finding a brand that keeps its customers happy is a good first check mark for looking into if a mattress is right for you. Reviewers score these mattresses very highly versus others. Read on below for the customer reviews and mattress specifics.

Avocado's Supportiveness

These mattresses are good supporters vs many other competitors. They offer a more resilient sleeping surface to align the spine and customers feel good levels of comfort while sleeping. Reviewers are keen on describing these mattresses as supportive and and don't report loss of support over the short term.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for most sleepers and desire a ledge of support and comfort. These mattresses do a good job providing edge support for sleepers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Using a bowling ball on the surface of the mattress is a good way to measure support and firmness. These mattresses provide an even supportive structure throughout the mattress.

Avocado's Durability

One of the most essential things for mattress buyers is durability. Getting 7 to 12 years of use out of a mattress and still being comfortable at night is a nice show of durability. That said, mattress craftsmanship and sleeper body weight can affect durability as well. These mattresses do a great job with durability overall. That said, some with heavier bodies may experience a slight decrease in durability.

Get an Instant Discount for Avocado:   Get $200 Off - Code MERRY200

Lucid's Owner Satisfaction

If you are examining this brand, take a look below for more details about these mattresses. Unfortunately, they get poor ratings from some customers. Some spoke high praise about their experience, but many others had issues with the feel.

Lucid's Supportiveness

In terms of support, customers give these mattresses mixed reviews. Some customers feel cozy with these mattresses, but others didn't feel great after a night's sleep. If you are someone who is above average in weight or has wide shoulders or hips, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of supportive resistance you get on the edge of the mattress and is important for anyone that likes to sit on the side of their bed. Some may not find these mattresses to be evenly supportive along the sides and may dip more than usual.

Lucid's Durability

Sadly, these mattresses aren't well loved for their durability. While some customers found them to be comfortable, others have experienced quicker issues than average. Make sure to take a look at the specifications, warranty, and reviews before buying.

Browse Avocado Customer Reviews

Love my Avocado! - Nancy M.

I absolutely love this mattress! I have never experienced this degree of comfort from a mattress before. It took me several months of researching and reading every review before I made the decision to buy an Avocado! I am so glad I did! It's been a life changer.

View More Reviews

Browse Lucid Customer Reviews

Fantastic delivery.

Fantastic delivery.....the mattress arrived in two days. We laid the mattress out on the platform for the bed and patiently waited the 48 hours for the mattress to expand. This 10'' mattress expanded to 9 1/4'' on one side and 9 5/8'' on the other side which, although is less than a 1/2'' differential, means that the mattress is not level. This also means that the mattress does not fill up its cover, which is intended for the full 10''. I scoured foam mattress websites and this mattress was advertised to be 'medium firm' and is the firmest mattress Lucid offers. Unfortunately, the mattress really isn't all that firm at all. It's a fine mattress if you don't mind the baggy cover and a spongy mattress.

We have a double mattress made by Dormia, which is firm and we like. We were trying to find that mattress again, but couldn't seem to find it. After reading all the product literature we could find, we thought this was the right mattress.

I'm trying to return it, but, of course, this mattress that expands after the box is opened will not fit in the box it arrived in. I'm having difficulty returning it because it needs to be returned in the box it came in.....

On the other hand.... I finally was able to return the mattress (which was no easy task packaging, etc, and we had to bundle it and wrap it in plastic) and Amazon was great and timely in issuing a refund.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.