Kip Set vs Opulay

Get The Best April 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Kip Set

The Kip Set mattress is innovative as the team owns the entire manufacturing and build process. This is different than many other mattresses that source their manufacturing with local shops that are contracted for their business. The Kip Set mattress gets good marks on spinal support without being too firm.

Opulay

Opulay is an Australian-made mattress in a box that features an all-foam design. It comes with 4 total layers of foam and aims to be in a medium-firmness range with the ability to customise between firm and soft on either side, making it ideal for most sleepers. It is a bit more expensive than many competitors and somewhat less popular. That said, their customers may be on to something.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Opulay in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Opulay

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Kip Set: 8.6/10
Opulay: 9.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Kip Set: 8.6/10
Opulay: 9.3/10

Price Value:
Kip Set: 8.6/10
Opulay: 9.1/10

No Back Pain:
Kip Set: 8.6/10
Opulay: 8.9/10

Price:
Kip Set: $699-$1099
Opulay: $813-$1268

Kip Set:
Get Yours Now

Opulay:
Get Yours Now

Kip Set's Owner Satisfaction

With reputation management, finding out customer satisfaction isn't terribly easy for the average shopper. That said, overall, these mattresses are reviewed well by sleepers. However, there were some folks that didn't feel the same way about the feel. so look at the specifics below to make sure that this mattress will work for you!

Kip Set's Supportiveness

Some people think mattresses that are supportive are also always firm, but when we write about support, we are talking about material that aligns the spine. These mattresses are well rated for their supportiveness for the average customer, but there is the occasional complaint about the feel.

Edge Support
Most reviewers describe these mattresses as having good edge support, which preferred for those that like to sit on the edge of the bed or sleep at the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Some reviewers use the bowling ball test to measure if mattresses are good at providing support to the spine. These mattresses do a good job overall, but there are a select few who may experience discomfort.

Kip Set's Durability

Reviewers provide mixed ratings about the durability of these mattresses. We all want a mattress that stays just as cozy in 10 years as it feels now, but sadly, not all mattresses are built for lasting comfort. If you are thinking about buying a mattress that has mixed feelings on durability, do one last review of the return and warranty policies so you are secure in your purchase.

Opulay's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers report feeling very comfortable and satisfied with these mattresses, which means that based off of recent and overall customer sentiment these mattresses have great percentages of positive feedback. This is a solid starting point to discovering if this mattress will work for you -- read on for more information on specifics.

Opulay's Supportiveness

Most reviewers find these mattresses to be supportive, which means the support layers of the mattress help align the spine and work together with the softer comfort layers above. That said, there are a few issues reported by a few customers, so make sure to do research to align your pick with your sleeping position and body type.

Edge Support
Overall, these mattresses are described as having good edge support, which means most don't experience any issues when sitting on the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In density and bowling ball tests that measure even support throughout the mattress, these mattresses are well supported throughout the surface. That said, some have complained about support issues over a long period, so make sure your selection works for you before buying.

Opulay's Durability

Everyone wants a mattress that will last forever, but that is sometimes easier said than done. Luckily, customers don't remain silent on what they like and dislike about their choices. These mattreses are durable, overall, and should last longer than average for everyday sleepers, but some who are larger in body type may experience them to not last as long.

Browse Kip Set Customer Reviews

Just right for me! - Seth

This Kip Set double bed mattress is not too soft and not too firm, just right for me! (I'm 75 kg) Minimal partner disturbance compared to the spring mattress. Couldn't smell any terrible chemical scent before and after fitting 100% bamboo covers for pillows & mattress.When you wake up you will find that your mattress have moulded around the natural contours of your body.It will feel unusual when coming from spring mattresses, so keep it a little longer so your body can adjust to it.

View More Reviews

Browse Opulay Customer Reviews

Opulay Mattress-King - Rachel H.

I have to say that I love my new mattress.I love that I can have two different feels to the bed. I find the mattress incredibly comfortable and I look forward to going to bed these days and I hate getting out (the exact opposite to how I have been for the past two years).I find the mattress molds beautifully to my body,not too hard and not too soft. My Mattress arrived within three days so that was fantastic,the box that it come in was totally destroyed though, with gaping holes it looked a mess,thank goodness the mattress was wrapped tight in plastic and still o.k. I did not receive any form of warranty with the Mattress however I am aware that it should have one. The king size mattress is also slightly smaller all round compared to my A.H Beard king size mattress however I love the Opulay mattress so much that I am sure I will cope. All in all a wonderful supportive mattress that I would highly recommend.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Noa

Emma

Ergoflex

Ecosa

Koala

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.