Astrabeds vs Ikea

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Astrabeds

Astrabeds manufactures a latex mattress that they sell exclusively online. Their mattress comes with multiple firmness options. They also provide a dual-sided option so that partners with different preferences can still have what they want on their side. Some customers have had good experiences, but there are some that had issues with initial comfort and durability.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Astrabeds in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Astrabeds


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Astrabeds: 7.2/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Astrabeds: 7.2/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Astrabeds: 7.3/10
Ikea: 8.9/10

No Back Pain:
Astrabeds: 7.1/10
Ikea: 7.5/10

Price:
Astrabeds: $1099-$2999
Ikea: $89-$1199

Astrabeds:
Get Yours Now

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Astrabeds's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers report feeling comfy, but others reported discomfort with their mattresses. Even though some folks appreciate these mattresses, they have lower customer satisfaction that average overall. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

Astrabeds's Supportiveness

Support isn't the same as firmness. Good support means that it lines up your back and spine -- leading to a healthier night sleep. Unfortunately, these mattresses have some mixed reception when it comes to support. Most folks are comfortable with the support right after purchase, but some folks felt like support was lacking over the long term.

Edge Support
For those that need to sit on the edge of their bed or roll to the side, even edge support is very important. For most, these mattresses do a fine job with edge support at the beginning, but some found that it wasn't as supportive as they'd like

Astrabeds's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. Unfortunately, customers don't tend to rate these mattresses well in terms of durability. This means that some customers may experience that their mattress lasts longer than average, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Making sense of customer reviews can be a powerful tool for shoppers. Sleepers, regrettably, don't always repond positively towards these mattresses. Some are very satisfied with the feel, but others report discomfort. If you are thinking about buying, make sure to get more details about the mattress below.

Ikea's Supportiveness

Most folks describe these mattresses as doing a good job supporthing their bodies, but others didn't always agree with the feel. For those that are bigger than average, review the mattress specifications and firmnesses before making a final decision as you'll want to make sure that this adequately supports your body and your spine.

Edge Support
For those that want a mattress they can sit on with their legs dangling off the sides, these mattresses will provide comfortable support for most people. However, some had complaints so review more if you need edge support for mobility purposes.

Ikea's Durability

Everyone wants to find a mattress that will last over a decade, and when our mattress starts to hurt our backs after a few months, we feel swindled. That said, finding a mattress that is comfortable and durable is really hard these days. With more companies than ever, companies fighting for profit at the demise of quality. When it comes to these mattresses, some folks had issues with discomfort over a short period of time. It doesn't mean that durability issues will happen to you if you buy one of these, but make sure to read up on the warranty and return policies before buying.

Browse Astrabeds Customer Reviews

Extremely comfortable, and healthy piece of mind. - Ellen

I love that this mattress is healthy. Toxic chemicals do known to cause respiratory illness do not continually outgas from this mattress. This mattress is made of natural materials, latex, 100% organic cotton, and wool. My 3 year old sone is very prone to respiratory illness. This mattress doesn't add to him being sick. This mattress is also very, very comfortable. I love it.

View More Reviews

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.