Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get The Best June 2024 Mattress Deals!
Unlock Today's Coupons

Ashley Furniture vs. Tuft And Needle

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ashley Furniture

Ashley Furniture, otherwise known as Ashley Homestore, is a well known global furniture retailer and manufacturer that also crafts its own brand of mattresses, Ashley Sleep and Chime. Within this brand, Ashley offers both innerspring and memory foam mattresses. However, with extremely low prices, there are some reports of durability issues over a short period of time. Read on for the full drilldown.

Tuft And Needle

Tuft & Needle made a big splash in the mattress industry when it offered one of the lowest cost all-foam mattresses in a box directly to customers, their T&N Original Mattress. Since then, they've elaborated on their initial concept with two more innovative designs: The Mint and The Hybrid, which provide high quality, superbly pressure-relieving offerings. On top of that, the Mint Mattress was recently upgraded to include antimicrobial protection embedded in its cover layer. With their three mattresses and 100,000s of positive reviews, customers have spoken in approval of T&N.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Tuft And Needle in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Tuft And Needle

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ashley Furniture: 8.3/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ashley Furniture: 8.2/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.2/10

Price Value:
Ashley Furniture: 8.2/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.1/10

No Back Pain:
Ashley Furniture: 8.7/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.2/10

Price:
Ashley Furniture: $298-$2099
Tuft And Needle: $645-$1895

Ashley Furniture:
Get Yours Now

Tuft And Needle:
Get Yours Now


Ashley Furniture's Owner Satisfaction

With customer reviews, it is easy to condense benefits and drawbacks. That said, it is sometimes difficult to stay focused with all of the reviews from countless brands. Customers have had mixed things to say about these mattresses. Some are cozy in their new mattress, but others have complaints about the feel.


Ashley Furniture's Supportiveness

It's important to have a supportive mattress for a good night's sleep. Over the first few months of use, these mattresses have high marks for support, but some had complaints about the support over the long term. Before purchasing, read the reviews to make sure you get the right fit for your body.

Edge Support
Many look for good edge support as a way to be comfortable getting in and out of bed. These mattresses provide okay edge support, but some experience more contouring than they would like.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In initial density and bowling ball tests reported by sleepers and reviewers, things are fairly even in terms of support throughout the mattress. Some reviewers, though, have described issues with support issues over time.


Ashley Furniture's Durability

Mattresses with lasting comfort are amazing, but not always easy to find. These mattresses are not reviewed highly by customers when it comes to durability. That being said, some may provide comfort for years and years, while other mattresses may become uncomfortable faster. If you are a bigger person, take some time reading more before buying.

Tuft And Needle's Owner Satisfaction

There are is some negative input about these mattresses. Some customers were happy with the way their new mattresse made them feel, but others reported being uncomfortable. Therefore, it is hard to understand if one of these will keep you totally comfortable. Look on below to see if one of these may work for you.


Tuft And Needle's Supportiveness

Customers report that these mattresses don't offer the kind of lasting support that some of the other brands may. Though there are some that find these mattresses good for them, if you are heavier in build, make sure to do more research before purchasing.

Edge Support
For those that need longevity in their edge support., some report that these mattresses don't have the best edge support.


Tuft And Needle's Durability

We all want to find a mattress that is durable and will last a lifetime, but that is sometimes easier said than done. That said, good data on the materials used as well as customer reviews and tests make estimating durability easier. These mattresses, specifically, are more durable than average and should last between 5 - 7 years for most, but some who are heavier may find them less durable.

Browse Ashley Furniture Customer Reviews

Sleeping So Soundly
We've only had this for a week, but we've never slept so soundly. It's by far the most comfortable mattress we've ever had. The price is great too

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Comfortable memory foam option with convenient packaging
The mattress arrived well packaged, all rolled up and in one compact, tall box. This made it easier for us to move the mattress upstairs, and I can imagine this would translate well to those who are moving. Once we unrolled the mattress, we noticed the slightly off-putting smell, as other reviewers have also noted; however, it dissipated within a day. The mattress inflated to its full size by the end of the afternoon, which was surprising, given how compactly it was delivered.

The mattress sleeps very comfortably. The 13 inch gives it a nice height, and while the gel pillow top (on top of the memory foam) may be too soft for some, we found it to be just right. What stood out to us was how well the other half of the mattress didn't disturb when one person moved around, even with the softness of the top. Overall, very comfortable memory foam mattress option that comes in easy to maneuver packaging.

Perfect for her- soft and cozy
purchased for my daughter who likes to 'snuggle in' at night. Perfect for her- soft and cozy, cushy top layer but decent support

Three Stars
Great bed but super hot and extra soft. The gel does not work like I thought it would.

Good buy!
Bed is very soft and seems to insulate when we have the heated blanket on the top. For the price, my husband & I are sleeping fine.

It was comfortable for about a month
It was comfortable for about a month, then it got a very low place where your hips lay.I would not buy it again.

Very comfortable to sleep on
Product is true to description. Very comfortable to sleep on. Improves quality of sleep.

Love it!
So happy with this mattress!! Feels like sleeping on a cloud

Great Mattress
Great mattress for chronic back pain sufferers. Very comfortable in any sleeping position. No need to buy a more expensive brand. Love it.

Love our new mattress
We are loving our new mattress we bought a month sag it's great to get a good nights sleep!

Best sleep in a long time.
I bought this about a month ago. I did not go to the store to try it out so I had no idea what it was going to be like. After we received delivery we were so delighted to find just how comfortable this mattress is. We sleep so much better on this mattress, better than we expected. Could not be happier with this choice.

Getting good nights sleep again!
I bought this mattress 3 days ago, I'm used to a soft memory foam mattress, and this is a firm foam/gel mattress. The first night wasn't sure I was going to get comfortable, and next thing I knew I woke up refreshed! I haven't had near amount of back and neck pain and sleep great at night. I would have to say it's because of this purchase!

Never slept better
Instant relief from morning lower back pain. Highly recommend purchase.

Sleeping like a baby!
Bought this a month ago and my husband is in love with this matress! I was hesitant to trying a different kind of matress vs. What we've purchased in the past, but this was the best decision ever!

Great bed
This has the features of a high dollar bed at half the price. Have not had a issue with it yet.

Wonderful mattress !
Bought this 2 months ago! My lower back feels so much better ! Such a great night sleep! Worth every penny!

Wow, this is a very comfortable mattress!
Wow, what a great mattress! Prior to purchasing this mattress I was experiencing really bad lower back pain almost every morning. At first I couldn’t figure out if it was my box-spring, mattress or something else... After receiving the new mattress I realized my old spring mattress was causing my pain after all! The VERY first morning I woke up the pain in my back was gone. The memory foam material is so much more comfortable than the traditional spring style mattresses. My girlfriend is also a huge fan because if I get up in the middle of the night it won’t disturb her side of the bed. We both agree that we are getting a better night sleep as a result of purchasing this product. I would highly recommend this mattress to anyone who is experiencing aches and pains or just simply wants to get a better night sleep.

Great bed.. Priced right
We purchased this bed over a month ago and I am very pleased with it. I was very skeptical about a foam mattress but this is very comfortable and supportive. Good purchase.

Good Mattress. GREAT DEAL!!
Good mattress for a great price!! It is definitely in the firm category.

Much better for me than springs
I am happy with the comfort and style. Old mattress had developed a sag.

Not for everyone.
I had no issues with ordering or receiving the mattress. The issue was it killed my wife's back to sleep on the mattress. It was so bad for her that she often ended up sleeping on the couch. For me I seemed to sleep well for about six hours but anything beyond that and my back would begin to hurt as well but not as bad as my wife's. She is a back sleeper and I am a stomach sleeper. So I guess it's safe to say that the Perfect 10 mattress is not for everyone..

killing my back
Bought a year ago. It was good for the first 6 months. But after that back pain every night. It's very comfortable for about 2-3 hours, after that you start sinking into matress. Not recommend.

Not what I expected for the price
I feel this is an overpriced mattress topper, not a mattress. Would not put hase again. It was very expensive, there is nothing to it.

Does not last
Loved the memory foam mattress for the first six months. Comfortable and no disturbance from partner moving. Now 3 years later it is horrible. I have to sit all the way up to roll over and get woken up every time my husband gets out of bed or rolls over. Mattress is very gushy.

ASHLEY SLEEP RESPONSE>WORST EVER! Like a PARK BENCH! $1,400 GONE!
Summary FEELS LIKE A BLOCK OF CEMENT! WASTE OF money! Purchased this matress & Boxspring 6 Mos ago,slept on 1 NIGHT! Had Rash all over body so unzipped case only to find HUNDREDS OF BUGS! After 6 days of calls to CO spoke w/ no less than 9 ppl & jumping thru hoops & going to store w/ 12 pics of inside casing & E.R Visit for Rash,finally received a replacement & I DID NOT RECEIVE THE (PLUSH SOFT),instead a quite firm Rep!Also Mem foam pillows were horrid!! Due to back issues I need soft! SO here we are 7 mos later & I'M SLEEPING IN MY RECLINER/HUBBY ON COUCH! Would never purchase anything again from ASHLEY>>PLUS THE STORE IS NOW CLOSED! HUGE WASTE OF HARD EARNED MONEY & NOTHING TO GO PURCHASE ANOTHER with! Should have not deleted pics from cell,would have loved to put those on here also!

scammers
I am writing this review only because I ruined my $12000, my 3-4 months time, my comfort, piece of mind, and my trust because of Ashley Furniture store and I do not want other people make the same mistake I made. Please do not consider what I include in this review as my madness or frustration, it is an exact real story that happens to anybody dealing with Ashley Furniture stores. First of all, the whole company is scam and everybody (even their employers and their delivery guys complain about their lies and I heard lies from all of them) are mad at Ashley, and I do not know where some of these 5 stars in google coming from (I guess they make some fake accounts to randomly put 5-stars review for them if you look at their history they only have 1 review and it is Ashley). I recommend for ASHLEY review take a look at YELP (2.5-starts even with their fake 5-star review) or other online review platforms. I am hugely surprised how they have maintained in business in the US with this awful customer service. Regarding my experience with them, please be cautious (scared-scared-scared) of these names: DAVID, SAHAR, KALY, TOBY They are professional liars/scammers. Initially, they treat you as if they love you so you feel they are the nicest people. The purpose is to attract you and catch you in their traps. Their tricks to do that includes: Hey body come here I give you great discount (while the original price is 3 times higher), we protect your furniture for 5 years, push you to buy tonight because tonight we have a great deal and we want you to take advantage of our great deal, we have 48 months finances, and so on and so forth. Unfortunately, we were fooled by SAHAR (salesperson working in Dublin store) and she connected us to a so-called manage David in Colma store. They asked us to open a credit card for financing 2 days beforehand, but at the time of payment, David added 10% to the whole purchase because of financing. It was the first lie and we got a hard inquiry and credit score dropped hugely and could not use that with 10% more (we bought $11000 things from Ashly and with the finance, it was $14500). They are very professional scammers and do their best to catch you in a trap so you cannot decide. Therefore, we had to pay all upfront that was very stressful for us. Then David pushed us to buy a protection plan but we did not trust them to have protection plan. After payment (November 27th) they set our delivery for 3 weeks later (December 14th), while we were previously promised by SAHAR for 3-4 day delivery. The most awful part of the experience is after 3 weeks they changed the time of delivery 2 times and push it back to the very late afternoon. 3 delivery guys brought us some of our items. When we looked at them, we were shocked. After 3 weeks they brought us garbage, damaged, scratched, and even some floor samples instead of brand new. They broke my door, damaged my wall, hugely scratched my hardwood floor and damaged my house, and we only got only 25% of our stuff that looked pretty much like floor samples, although they charged me for brand new. Interestingly, it turned out the delivery guys faked my wife’s signature (signature forgery) that I did not have any complain about $2130 damage they caused to my property (floor, wall, door, entrance Lanscape lights). After 10 times calling and spending 10 hours , they scheduled us for another delivery (January 5th) and promised to refund my delivery fee because of the inconvenience. New delivery guys brought the same items (broken, damaged, scratched, floor samples...). After that, we had 3-4 more deliveries (total I guess 8 times) every time something was missing and damaged. Finally, we had to accept all the garbage they delivered to us since we got tired of their lies and mental problems we had got from them. All in all, they are professional and educated on how to play with you mentally so you give up. If you wanna waste 3-4 months of your life, your money, your mental health, and finally receive a bunch of garbage buy from Ashley

Not as Plush as Advertised.
Let me state this first: I am 64 years old and joints not so young anymore so I am picky. I was excited when I saw this Hybrid since it stated it was soft and plush. It is not either. I could feel the springs through the side and the top Read More

Amazing Sleep at a Great Price!!!
Extremely happy with the comfort these mattresses offer. Firm enough for those that prefer to sleep on their back or stomach. Yet, soft enough for side sleepers too. I bought two of these in the twin size for my kids. I’ve slept on these about 12 or Read More

Love it
Got this for a small bedroom, it lays great.my grandchildren stated that slept well. But the best is that my yorkies think that it is their bed lol

Excellent purchase
Our grandson loves it

Would buy again...
Wasn't sure what to expect considering we were ordering it online but I don't regret making that purchase. This was a mattress for my daughters bedroom and it's one of the best mattresses in the house.

Great quality
Very comfortable

Great Bed
I love the bed! It's my third one that I have purchased. Easy to open and good to go in less than 48 hrs! Thanks!

Hybrid twin mattress
I’m very happy and satisfied with the 12 inch hybrid twin mattress, it’s just what I expected and the price it’s worth

Amazing
I love this mattress so much. I got one for myself and after sleeping on it for a year I ended up getting another one for my daughter. She would toss and turn all night on her firm foam mattress but would fall asleep instantly on this one. It lit Read More

Love the mattress in a box!
Love the mattress, it is so comfortable and very soft. I totally recommend this mattress.

Okay for some, but not if you suffer from joint,back issues
I bought this mattress last May for my son since he was transitioning to a toddler bed. I decided to skip the toddler bed altogether and just bought him a full size platform bed. My son sleeps pretty well on it, but he can sleep pretty much any Read More

Good quality mattress
I am using this mattress for 2 weeks. Its comfortable. A little stiff for me. Oveeall v good quality and would recommend to anyone.

Awesome
My 93 year old grandmother loves this mattress. She has no complaints about her body at all. I love that it is soft and hard at the same time for her small frame. Excellent purchase.

Don’t be fooled just because this is a bed in a box...
I bought this mattress during the COVID pandemic when all stores were closed. I needed a mattress and bought it based solely of the reviews. It is not too hard nor too soft of a bed. Personally I enjoy firm beds and wished I got it a Read More

Browse Tuft And Needle Customer Reviews

The upgrades to the Mint mattress
The upgrades to the Mint mattress addresses the few weaknesses of the standard T and N mattress. We have been extremely satisfied with both of them and have begun giving them to our kids

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

The comfort!
The comfort! I’m obsessed with my queen bed. I no longer have to try to fall asleep-it’s effortless!

ease
The ease of setup.

It's a very comfortable mattress
It's a very comfortable mattress. Soft with nice support.

The original mattress
The original mattress we purchased has exceeded my expectations. I have owned a big name foam matress before for twice the price. This matress meets and or exceeds that. Its nice to be sleeping well again. Easy to unbox, easy to sleep. Thank you!

Quality and comfort
Quality and comfort. They made a mattress that’s for the consumer at an affordable price. Best nights sleep I’ve had in along time!

Great product
Great product, fast delivery, easy purchase process.

The mattress is very comfortable
The mattress is very comfortable. However the mattress protector makes it seem more stiff and the jersey sheet son top of the protector makes that feel just as rough

Offer firmer mattress option
Offer firmer mattress option. Bring down prices of accessories like sheets and pillows.

They are all great quality
They are all great quality- from the mattresses to the sheets. I also love the simplicity of the product offerings. No one needs hundreds of options, just a few really great ones.

Nothing
Nothing!

The 100 day free trial
The 100 day free trial and the comfy but firm support and breathability of the mattress.

I just rarely recommend things
I just rarely recommend things. If it comes up, I will. The mattress is splendid.

Comfort
Comfort, quality and price are exceptional.

Great price
Great price and so comfortable

It’s neat
It’s neat and new!

Easy to order
Easy to order, fast delivery, easy to set up, well-priced, well rated by Consumer Reports (particularly like the top rating for long-term wear); but the best part is both my husband and I find it very comfortable. It feels firm, but is comfortable and there are no body stress points. A winner.

I’ve had back pain
I’ve had back pain ever since I got the OG mattress.

It is just perfect
It is just perfect. A good smooth, comfy but firm sleep. The mattress also stays cool. It is definitely just as good, probably better, than my old tempur pedic set. I am very happy with it. I initially had my reservations and thought I should get another tempur pedic set, even though the cost was so much greater. So glad I took a chance.

Very comfortable
Very comfortable and able to be assembled easily.

Ease of ordering
Ease of ordering, delivery and set up. Quality mattress. Love it.

Comfortable
Comfortable

I have already great products
I have already great products. I personally went from purple to tuft and needles

Unrolled into its seemingly full size
Unrolled into its seemingly full size immediately. All well wrapped to arrive pristine. A good night's sleep was available same day.

The comfort level is amazing
The comfort level is amazing. My sleep has been great. It feels soft and firm all at once. I am a side sleeper and it has made a huge difference for my hips. I have talked a coworker into buying one and my dad and stepmom. Plus I am buying one for my daughter!

Just the right amount of softness
Just the right amount of softness and support.

comfortable
Very comfortable

Excellent quality
Excellent quality with a great price. Free shipping and easy set up.

Quality
Quality

mattress
mattress quality is great.

great
The mattress was great from night 1!

Comfort
Comfort

Everything
Everything. It takes a little to get use to the change but after that it is awesome

Incredibly well packaged and presented
Incredibly well packaged and presented, very easy to assemble frame and support and best of all...the Mint was super comfortable from Day 1!

The mattress is very comfortable
The mattress is very comfortable and the foundation was easy to set up...

Comfortable mattress
Comfortable mattress. Getting in an out of bed with no noise, quiet mattress. Doesn't hurt side sleepers in the hips and shoulders.

The products are wonderful
The products are wonderful, it's the customer service that brings it all together and makes it special. As someone who is autistic and can get very easily overwhelmed the attention to care made such a difference for me.

Excellence quality
Excellence quality, fast delivery, great engineering of the mattress and platform, easy setup, attractive fabric covering, very comfortable.

I am warmer than I thought I would be
I am warmer than I thought I would be sleeping on the mattress. I also have a slight issue with feeling 'stuck' in a position. The height of the bed is also a bit too much, though I suppose it is more like the industry standard than what I had before. It is just that it barely fits in our bed frame, and if we had not bought the support box, it definitely would not have fit in our frame; we would have had to buy a new frame.

Comfort
Comfort and price