Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get The Best Memorial Day Mattress Deals!
Unlock Today's Coupons

Ashley Furniture vs. Bobs Bobopedic

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ashley Furniture

Ashley Furniture, otherwise known as Ashley Homestore, is a well known global furniture retailer and manufacturer that also crafts its own brand of mattresses, Ashley Sleep and Chime. Within this brand, Ashley offers both innerspring and memory foam mattresses. However, with extremely low prices, there are some reports of durability issues over a short period of time. Read on for the full drilldown.

Bobs Bobopedic

Bob's Discount Furniture has been a popular furniture mainstay in the northeastern and midwestern U.S. His Bobopedic brand was made famous by the Bob's television commercials over the 20 years and offers memory foam, hybrid, and latex mattresses. These mattresses have competitive price points for the materials used, but there are some that found the initial feel and durability disagreeable.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Ashley Furniture in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Ashley Furniture

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ashley Furniture: 8.3/10
Bobs Bobopedic: 7.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ashley Furniture: 8.2/10
Bobs Bobopedic: 7/10

Price Value:
Ashley Furniture: 8.2/10
Bobs Bobopedic: 7/10

No Back Pain:
Ashley Furniture: 8.7/10
Bobs Bobopedic: 7.1/10

Price:
Ashley Furniture: $298-$2099
Bobs Bobopedic: $100-$2099

Ashley Furniture:
Get Yours Now

Bobs Bobopedic:
Get Yours Now


Ashley Furniture's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews are a great way to figure out if a mattress will work for you. That said, it can be easy to get lost in the noise of hundreds of brands that seemingly have great reviews. These mattresses are given mixed reviews by customers. Some are cozy in their new mattress, but others have complaints about the feel.


Ashley Furniture's Supportiveness

These mattresses are above average in their supportiveness, which is what you want when you've been sleeping on a sagging mattress from the past few months. That said, there are some that have described a lack of support for them, so take a look at the firmness and durability ratings to ensure it works for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much a mattress props you up along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do a fine job, but heavier folks may experience less than ideal edge support.


Ashley Furniture's Durability

In addition to having good support, having a mattress that really lasts is key for shoppers. We are all hopeful to find a mattress that would be just as comfortable day one as it is 10 years from now. That said, not all customers rate these mattresses very well on durability and some have had issues over only a short horizon. If you are thinking about buying and using full time, read over the reviews, warranty, and return policies to make sure that you are safe in your purchase.

Bobs Bobopedic's Owner Satisfaction

Not all sleepers like these mattresses. Some sleepers are happy with the feel, but others have had issues. Due to this, it is more difficult to predict whether one will work flawlessly for you. Do additional research below to learn from customers if one of these will work for you.


Bobs Bobopedic's Supportiveness

These mattresses don't fit the needs of everyone in terms of support. Though some sleepers find these mattresses to be comfortable, others have found these mattresses not to be comfortable. If this brand is on your short list, make sure to read more about it before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is always important to those that like to sit close to the edge of the mattress Some folks, however, don't report it being as large of an issue for them. Overall these mattresses aren't as supportive over the long term so if edge support is important, make sure to do extra research.


Bobs Bobopedic's Durability

These mattresses may not last as long as you'd hope. Some customers have had issues with feel and longevity issues after a short time. If you would consider yourself larger or looking for something with lasting support, you may experience good comfort initially, but make sure to do some more research before buying.

Browse Ashley Furniture Customer Reviews

Sleeping So Soundly
We've only had this for a week, but we've never slept so soundly. It's by far the most comfortable mattress we've ever had. The price is great too

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Comfortable memory foam option with convenient packaging
The mattress arrived well packaged, all rolled up and in one compact, tall box. This made it easier for us to move the mattress upstairs, and I can imagine this would translate well to those who are moving. Once we unrolled the mattress, we noticed the slightly off-putting smell, as other reviewers have also noted; however, it dissipated within a day. The mattress inflated to its full size by the end of the afternoon, which was surprising, given how compactly it was delivered.

The mattress sleeps very comfortably. The 13 inch gives it a nice height, and while the gel pillow top (on top of the memory foam) may be too soft for some, we found it to be just right. What stood out to us was how well the other half of the mattress didn't disturb when one person moved around, even with the softness of the top. Overall, very comfortable memory foam mattress option that comes in easy to maneuver packaging.

Perfect for her- soft and cozy
purchased for my daughter who likes to 'snuggle in' at night. Perfect for her- soft and cozy, cushy top layer but decent support

Three Stars
Great bed but super hot and extra soft. The gel does not work like I thought it would.

Good buy!
Bed is very soft and seems to insulate when we have the heated blanket on the top. For the price, my husband & I are sleeping fine.

It was comfortable for about a month
It was comfortable for about a month, then it got a very low place where your hips lay.I would not buy it again.

Very comfortable to sleep on
Product is true to description. Very comfortable to sleep on. Improves quality of sleep.

Love it!
So happy with this mattress!! Feels like sleeping on a cloud

Great Mattress
Great mattress for chronic back pain sufferers. Very comfortable in any sleeping position. No need to buy a more expensive brand. Love it.

Love our new mattress
We are loving our new mattress we bought a month sag it's great to get a good nights sleep!

Best sleep in a long time.
I bought this about a month ago. I did not go to the store to try it out so I had no idea what it was going to be like. After we received delivery we were so delighted to find just how comfortable this mattress is. We sleep so much better on this mattress, better than we expected. Could not be happier with this choice.

Getting good nights sleep again!
I bought this mattress 3 days ago, I'm used to a soft memory foam mattress, and this is a firm foam/gel mattress. The first night wasn't sure I was going to get comfortable, and next thing I knew I woke up refreshed! I haven't had near amount of back and neck pain and sleep great at night. I would have to say it's because of this purchase!

Never slept better
Instant relief from morning lower back pain. Highly recommend purchase.

Sleeping like a baby!
Bought this a month ago and my husband is in love with this matress! I was hesitant to trying a different kind of matress vs. What we've purchased in the past, but this was the best decision ever!

Great bed
This has the features of a high dollar bed at half the price. Have not had a issue with it yet.

Wonderful mattress !
Bought this 2 months ago! My lower back feels so much better ! Such a great night sleep! Worth every penny!

Wow, this is a very comfortable mattress!
Wow, what a great mattress! Prior to purchasing this mattress I was experiencing really bad lower back pain almost every morning. At first I couldn’t figure out if it was my box-spring, mattress or something else... After receiving the new mattress I realized my old spring mattress was causing my pain after all! The VERY first morning I woke up the pain in my back was gone. The memory foam material is so much more comfortable than the traditional spring style mattresses. My girlfriend is also a huge fan because if I get up in the middle of the night it won’t disturb her side of the bed. We both agree that we are getting a better night sleep as a result of purchasing this product. I would highly recommend this mattress to anyone who is experiencing aches and pains or just simply wants to get a better night sleep.

Great bed.. Priced right
We purchased this bed over a month ago and I am very pleased with it. I was very skeptical about a foam mattress but this is very comfortable and supportive. Good purchase.

Good Mattress. GREAT DEAL!!
Good mattress for a great price!! It is definitely in the firm category.

Much better for me than springs
I am happy with the comfort and style. Old mattress had developed a sag.

Not for everyone.
I had no issues with ordering or receiving the mattress. The issue was it killed my wife's back to sleep on the mattress. It was so bad for her that she often ended up sleeping on the couch. For me I seemed to sleep well for about six hours but anything beyond that and my back would begin to hurt as well but not as bad as my wife's. She is a back sleeper and I am a stomach sleeper. So I guess it's safe to say that the Perfect 10 mattress is not for everyone..

killing my back
Bought a year ago. It was good for the first 6 months. But after that back pain every night. It's very comfortable for about 2-3 hours, after that you start sinking into matress. Not recommend.

Not what I expected for the price
I feel this is an overpriced mattress topper, not a mattress. Would not put hase again. It was very expensive, there is nothing to it.

Does not last
Loved the memory foam mattress for the first six months. Comfortable and no disturbance from partner moving. Now 3 years later it is horrible. I have to sit all the way up to roll over and get woken up every time my husband gets out of bed or rolls over. Mattress is very gushy.

ASHLEY SLEEP RESPONSE>WORST EVER! Like a PARK BENCH! $1,400 GONE!
Summary FEELS LIKE A BLOCK OF CEMENT! WASTE OF money! Purchased this matress & Boxspring 6 Mos ago,slept on 1 NIGHT! Had Rash all over body so unzipped case only to find HUNDREDS OF BUGS! After 6 days of calls to CO spoke w/ no less than 9 ppl & jumping thru hoops & going to store w/ 12 pics of inside casing & E.R Visit for Rash,finally received a replacement & I DID NOT RECEIVE THE (PLUSH SOFT),instead a quite firm Rep!Also Mem foam pillows were horrid!! Due to back issues I need soft! SO here we are 7 mos later & I'M SLEEPING IN MY RECLINER/HUBBY ON COUCH! Would never purchase anything again from ASHLEY>>PLUS THE STORE IS NOW CLOSED! HUGE WASTE OF HARD EARNED MONEY & NOTHING TO GO PURCHASE ANOTHER with! Should have not deleted pics from cell,would have loved to put those on here also!

scammers
I am writing this review only because I ruined my $12000, my 3-4 months time, my comfort, piece of mind, and my trust because of Ashley Furniture store and I do not want other people make the same mistake I made. Please do not consider what I include in this review as my madness or frustration, it is an exact real story that happens to anybody dealing with Ashley Furniture stores. First of all, the whole company is scam and everybody (even their employers and their delivery guys complain about their lies and I heard lies from all of them) are mad at Ashley, and I do not know where some of these 5 stars in google coming from (I guess they make some fake accounts to randomly put 5-stars review for them if you look at their history they only have 1 review and it is Ashley). I recommend for ASHLEY review take a look at YELP (2.5-starts even with their fake 5-star review) or other online review platforms. I am hugely surprised how they have maintained in business in the US with this awful customer service. Regarding my experience with them, please be cautious (scared-scared-scared) of these names: DAVID, SAHAR, KALY, TOBY They are professional liars/scammers. Initially, they treat you as if they love you so you feel they are the nicest people. The purpose is to attract you and catch you in their traps. Their tricks to do that includes: Hey body come here I give you great discount (while the original price is 3 times higher), we protect your furniture for 5 years, push you to buy tonight because tonight we have a great deal and we want you to take advantage of our great deal, we have 48 months finances, and so on and so forth. Unfortunately, we were fooled by SAHAR (salesperson working in Dublin store) and she connected us to a so-called manage David in Colma store. They asked us to open a credit card for financing 2 days beforehand, but at the time of payment, David added 10% to the whole purchase because of financing. It was the first lie and we got a hard inquiry and credit score dropped hugely and could not use that with 10% more (we bought $11000 things from Ashly and with the finance, it was $14500). They are very professional scammers and do their best to catch you in a trap so you cannot decide. Therefore, we had to pay all upfront that was very stressful for us. Then David pushed us to buy a protection plan but we did not trust them to have protection plan. After payment (November 27th) they set our delivery for 3 weeks later (December 14th), while we were previously promised by SAHAR for 3-4 day delivery. The most awful part of the experience is after 3 weeks they changed the time of delivery 2 times and push it back to the very late afternoon. 3 delivery guys brought us some of our items. When we looked at them, we were shocked. After 3 weeks they brought us garbage, damaged, scratched, and even some floor samples instead of brand new. They broke my door, damaged my wall, hugely scratched my hardwood floor and damaged my house, and we only got only 25% of our stuff that looked pretty much like floor samples, although they charged me for brand new. Interestingly, it turned out the delivery guys faked my wife’s signature (signature forgery) that I did not have any complain about $2130 damage they caused to my property (floor, wall, door, entrance Lanscape lights). After 10 times calling and spending 10 hours , they scheduled us for another delivery (January 5th) and promised to refund my delivery fee because of the inconvenience. New delivery guys brought the same items (broken, damaged, scratched, floor samples...). After that, we had 3-4 more deliveries (total I guess 8 times) every time something was missing and damaged. Finally, we had to accept all the garbage they delivered to us since we got tired of their lies and mental problems we had got from them. All in all, they are professional and educated on how to play with you mentally so you give up. If you wanna waste 3-4 months of your life, your money, your mental health, and finally receive a bunch of garbage buy from Ashley

Not as Plush as Advertised.
Let me state this first: I am 64 years old and joints not so young anymore so I am picky. I was excited when I saw this Hybrid since it stated it was soft and plush. It is not either. I could feel the springs through the side and the top Read More

Amazing Sleep at a Great Price!!!
Extremely happy with the comfort these mattresses offer. Firm enough for those that prefer to sleep on their back or stomach. Yet, soft enough for side sleepers too. I bought two of these in the twin size for my kids. I’ve slept on these about 12 or Read More

Love it
Got this for a small bedroom, it lays great.my grandchildren stated that slept well. But the best is that my yorkies think that it is their bed lol

Excellent purchase
Our grandson loves it

Would buy again...
Wasn't sure what to expect considering we were ordering it online but I don't regret making that purchase. This was a mattress for my daughters bedroom and it's one of the best mattresses in the house.

Great quality
Very comfortable

Great Bed
I love the bed! It's my third one that I have purchased. Easy to open and good to go in less than 48 hrs! Thanks!

Hybrid twin mattress
I’m very happy and satisfied with the 12 inch hybrid twin mattress, it’s just what I expected and the price it’s worth

Amazing
I love this mattress so much. I got one for myself and after sleeping on it for a year I ended up getting another one for my daughter. She would toss and turn all night on her firm foam mattress but would fall asleep instantly on this one. It lit Read More

Love the mattress in a box!
Love the mattress, it is so comfortable and very soft. I totally recommend this mattress.

Okay for some, but not if you suffer from joint,back issues
I bought this mattress last May for my son since he was transitioning to a toddler bed. I decided to skip the toddler bed altogether and just bought him a full size platform bed. My son sleeps pretty well on it, but he can sleep pretty much any Read More

Good quality mattress
I am using this mattress for 2 weeks. Its comfortable. A little stiff for me. Oveeall v good quality and would recommend to anyone.

Awesome
My 93 year old grandmother loves this mattress. She has no complaints about her body at all. I love that it is soft and hard at the same time for her small frame. Excellent purchase.

Don’t be fooled just because this is a bed in a box...
I bought this mattress during the COVID pandemic when all stores were closed. I needed a mattress and bought it based solely of the reviews. It is not too hard nor too soft of a bed. Personally I enjoy firm beds and wished I got it a Read More

Browse Bobs Bobopedic Customer Reviews

Not a good experience
I would not recommend Bob's to anyone! I was scheduled to have a delivery of my mattress and bed frame this morning. I called off the whole day from work, and emptied out my room to make sure they had plenty of space to build the bed frame. It snowed the night prior so early this morning I made sure my driveway was plowed and sanded. The delivery guys show up and refused to deliver my product because of the 'bad weather conditions' of my driveway. I stated the driveway has been plowed and I even offered to shovel and sand the driveway again so they could finish the delivery. But they refused and left. So I called the manager in hopes of getting my bed & frame to be delivered today and offered to shovel & sand more since apparently that was the issue. They refused to deliver it today & offered another delivery date for 4 days later. I'm very unhappy and will never buy from them again.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Uncomfortable
Not the mattress for me. Started sagging quickly.

Good bed
Was pleased with my purchase from Bob's. Bed feels very comfortable and I like it.

I love my new Bobopedic
I ordered one of these after seeing one of Bob's commercials. I decided to take advantage of their sale and get a Bobopedic ZZZoom bed. I really love it and it is super comfortable.

Decent mattress
I am very happy with my Bobopedic bed. I wish that I could have had this bed 10 years ago. It is a good bed now too and I am very pleased with my purchase.

Bob knows
Bob definitely knows about beds. This is the best bed I've ever felt. I am really impressed by the support and the no back pain.

We purchased our mattress in March 2015...
We purchased our mattress in March 2015. We opened the packaging when we brought it home and immediately smelled a terrible odor. We were told to let it air for a few days and we did, however, a few days turned into weeks. Before our 30 day window was up we called their customer service phone number and was told to open our windows. Well we did not, and as I explained to the customer service rep because we live in Maine and the temperature was 30 degrees. They gave us an extension on our return period, however, they did not agree to refund us or give us a new mattress. Now 11 months later we would like this factory defect to be taken care of. They sent out a technician who smokes and does not have a good sense of smell to come and check out the other. He did not smell anything and now they are refusing to remedy the situation. I would not recommend Bob's Discount Furniture to anyone!

I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress...
I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress for $1500 from Bob's Furniture. Not even 2 years old, it is sinking and destroying my restful night's sleep and causing body aches. I also purchased a sectional that is becoming discoloring on the piece that is not even a seat, but the cup holder section. This company is getting away with murder selling this shoddy furniture. They don't even try to work with you. What can be done about them? I am filing a small claims in court. I don't know what the outcome will be, but I have to do something. I feel like they stole from me and caused me to have body aches that I never had before purchasing this mattress.

I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress...
I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress for $1500 from Bob's Furniture. Not even 2 years old, it is sinking and destroying my restful night's sleep and causing body aches. I also purchased a sectional that is becoming discoloring on the piece that is not even a seat, but the cup holder section. This company is getting away with murder selling this shoddy furniture. They don't even try to work with you. What can be done about them? I am filing a small claims in court. I don't know what the outcome will be, but I have to do something. I feel like they stole from me and caused me to have body aches that I never had before purchasing this mattress.

We purchased our first mattress in 2011...
We purchased our first mattress in 2011. Within months it started to sag badly. Bob's came out, found it to be defective and gave us a credit to pick out another mattress. Second mattress failed within a year. Bob's came out and found it defective as well. We got another store credit and purchased the Bob O Pedic Gel, paying the difference just hoping for a better quality mattress.

Once again within a year we started to feel like we were in a hole and Bob's came out and measured the sag and told us the sag was only a 1/4 inch and needed to be 1 inch sag for the manufacturer to replace it. After talking to a manager explaining we're tired of sleeping on this mattress with a sag he said we had to wait 60 days to have another tech to come out. We waited and he came out, measured it again and it was now 1/2 inch and we were told there was nothing they can do.

This mattress has memory foam. So of course it's hard to 'see' the sag because the mattress just pops back up when you get up. We called again asking for a manager that never called us back. We gave up and now a year later my wife has to pull herself up out of bed by the headboard and has a backache every day, all day long. We called customer care and the tech came out, measured and it's now an inch sag and now they tell us it's got to be an inch and a half!!! You can imagine how angry we are at this point and keep in mind the mattress has a 20 year warranty on it. When you look at our bed you can visually see the mattress sags in the middle and they told me that the tech wrote that there wasn't a defect in the mattress but he had told us something totally different.

We argued the fact with them and the pictures that we're taking and that the tech only took one measurement and that was in the middle of the bed, not even at the end where you can visually see it sag. After arguing with them and not getting anywhere they said they would have Supervisor Dan call us in the morning. Well just like last time nobody called so I called them back. They of course hung up on me and I called back. I wasn't giving up this time. My wife's back is worse and the mattress is only a couple of years old.

Finally after pleading my case that obviously over the past year or so that the sag went from 1/4'' to 1'' sag that there was clearly a defect in the product. Yes I should just go buy a mattress from a different store but we don't have the funds to do so and why should we. They should stand behind their product and warranties. Finally after all that they gave us a credit so we will try this again but future reference to anyone buying a mattress from Bob's... DON'T!!!

My purchase was a pillow top queen euro Mattress...
My purchase was a pillow top queen euro Mattress for $899.99. My customer service experience was out of this world. I am handicapped and in a wheelchair and Bob's Discount store is no place for people in a wheelchair because for one there is no room and second the Representatives (customer) were mostly standing around or walking and ignoring me and my sister as we went in to look at the mattresses. When we went in to look at them it was a tight area and most people don't want to work or help us. We told them we were looking for a new mattress and the women who was lucky to get me was not happy to do it. She treated me bad and kept wanting me to get the same mattress But I wanted the $899.99 that I did get. But she was not going to be happy about it.

The shopping experience was horrible in a whole. I do have to say even though the shopping experience was horrible and I wheeled out of there humiliated and without anything I WON, and got MY $899.00 MATTRESS. OH YEAH. I went above her and went to the PRESIDENT. HE WAS FANTASTIC AND GRANTED ME MY MATTRESS. HE GETS A 10 FOR GREAT.

Twilight
We are thrilled with our new mattress. So far sleeping like a baby and waking up without back pain, heavenly!

Twilight mattress
Exceptional quality at an affordable price! My back no longer hurts, very comfortable. The cooling effect is outstanding.!

Perfect firmness
My husband has a bad back so we need a firm mattress, however I like soft beds. This mattress is perfect for the both of us. It’s firm enough for him and soft enough for me. Right down the middle!

This bed was perfect. I
This bed was perfect. I haven't woke up without a back ache in a long time. It feels great to not have pain in the morning.

Bob-O-Pedic Firm Mattress
So far, very comfortable, never had an adjustable before so we're getting used to it. This replaced a conventional Firm Verlo that was 20 years old. This is different with the memory foam but still, I'm sleeping pretty well.

Works well so far
Works well so far

Great mattress I am now
Great mattress I am now sleeping wonderful!!!

The bed is excellent we
The bed is excellent we enjoyed our first night's rest and would recommend it to anyone

The Best Mattress
I love it , best mattress I have every owned.

Amazing
This mattress is the most comfortable mattress I’ve ever slept on. I recommend anyone with back issues to by this mattress from Bob’s.

Mattress
So far the mattress is good , the service and quality of Bob’s mattresses is great . We recommend them highly

Queen
Nicely delivered, one week into use. Great quality, as advertised. Adjusting to new mattress.

Mattress
I have had a water bed for 25 years. This new mattress is the most comfortable mattress I have slept on in years

Twilight Bob-O-Pedic
The mattress feels good Very firm definitely a lot of padding

Comfortable for both of us!
Plush on my side, firm on his. Perfect!

Very satisfied.
Very satisfied.

Wonderful nights sleep!
Purchased the Twilight firm with Power Bob adjustable base. Excellent delivery, the guys took my old mattress and set everything up for my new bed, including putting the batteries into the remote control. The mattress is wonderful, but the adjustable base is AMAZING! I've slept the entire night through ever since it arrived. I no longer toss and turn all night, waking up multiple times trying to get comfortable. Do yourself a favor... go to Bob's today and get yourself an adjustable bed!

The delivery, set up and
The delivery, set up and overall experience was very good. The mattress is very comfortable. Only issue was they did not take my entire old sat and left half the box spring because they had no room in the truck.

Mattress
Getting used to it.

Love it so far!
I have only had my new mattress for two days, but I’m very happy with it already. I usually have lower back pain during the night and I have not had any since I have been sleeping on this mattress. The delivery team was very professional and quick. The smell people complain about was present but is almost gone after two days. I ordered the plush, which I highly recommend over the firm.

Matress and pillows
The matress and pillows are unbelievable I enjoy sleeping on them. I never had a bed that allows my body to relax like the one I bought

Twilight Queen Mattress
The mattress is very comfortable. We can both move independently in our sleep without disturbing each other. Love it!

Very good
Very good

not bad
well, I did not order a california king.. so that is incorrect. I ordered a king. So far it seems ok, no complaints, the vibration function seems unnecessary,but I do like the zero gravity on occasion.

I really like the mattress,
I really like the mattress, very comfortable. The only downside is that it made my bed higher than I anticipated.

Customer satisfied
Excellent customer service and flawless setup. Thanks Johanna

Best sleep ive had in
Best sleep ive had in a long time

Twilight firm mattress
It’s the best mattress to have. Now I sleep very well, no rolling and turning , I feel refreshed when wake up in the morning.. there’s no crazy scent as people say.. I love my mattress.

very comfortable and soft mattress
Just got this bed, getting used to a soft mattress after having a hard one for years. Time will tell how it holds up to larger womens body. But I have to say I was impress with Bob's delivery notifications and service.